old picture postcards UKPicture postcards devon dorset somerset england


Postcard Shop   

Photographs taken around the county of Somerset in the west of England. Use the arrows to navigate through the whole set of Somerset pictures. New photos are added from time to time so come back soon for another look at contemporary Somerset through the eyes of a picture postcard enthusiast! Related webpage: sign up for or log in to a completely free Somerset email address.

Previous Somerset Image


Eagle Owl outside a shop on the High Street Glastonbury Somerset


Next Somerset Image

An Eagle Owl outside one of the shops in High Street, Glastonbury, Somerset.

Contemporary photographs of: Devon; Dorset, Somerset

Old picture postcards and detailed interactive maps of: Allerford; Axbridge; Bath; Bicknoller; Bishops Lydeard; Blue Anchor; Bossington; Bradford-on-Tone; Bridgwater; Broadway; Brompton Ralph; Brompton Regis; Bruton; Buckland St Mary; Burnham-on-Sea; Burrowbridge; Carhampton; Castle Cary; Catcott; Chard; Cheddar; Chipstable; Cleeve; Clevedon; Clifton; Cotford; Crewkerne; Crowcombe; Culbone; Curry Rivel; Doniford; Dunster; Dulverton; Dunkery Beacon; East Coker; Exford; Exmoor; Fitzhead; Frome; Glastonbury; Halse; Hatch Beauchamp; Highbridge; High Ham; Holford; Holnicote; Horner; Huish Champflower; Kilve; Ilchester; Ilminster; Langport; Luccombe; Martock; Merriot; Midsomer Norton; Milverton; Minehead; Montacute; Muchelney; Nether Stowey; North Curry; North Petherton; Norton Fitzwarren; Othery; Porlock; Porlock Weir; Roadwater; Selworthy; Shepton Beauchamp; Shepton Mallet; Simonsbath; Somerton; South Petherton; Staplegrove; Stocklinch; Stogumber; Stogursey; Stoke St Mary; Street; Taunton; Tarr Steps; Timberscombe; Washford; Watchet; Waterrow; Wedmore; Wellington; Wells; Weston-Super-Mare; West Luccombe; Williton; Wincanton; Wheddon Cross; Winsford; Wiveliscombe; Withypool; Wootton Courtnay; Yeovil

somerset image  

Somerset, maritime county in South West of England, bounded to the North and North East by the Bristol Channel and the estuary of the Severn, and from North East. round to the South West. by the counties of Gloucester, Wilts, Dorset, and Devon; greatest length, North and Somerset, 43 miles; greatest breadth, East. and West, 67 miles; area, 1,049,812 acres, population 469,101. The coast line is generally low and marshy in the East, but lined with lofty slate cliffs in the West. The interior consists of ranges of hills separated by valleys, or by extensive low marshy flats. The principal ranges are the Mendip Hills, the Polden Hills, the Quantock Hills, the Brendon Hills, and Exmoor. The chief rivers are the Avon and the Parret (with its tributaries the Yeo or Ivel, Isle, and Tone), the former forming the boundary on the North East., the latter traversing the centre of the county; the other streams are the Yeo, Ax, and Brue. Both soil and climate are well adapted for agriculture, particularly in the low alluvial tracts; and in the Vale of Taunton heavy crops of the finest wheat are raised. The rich meadows rear large numbers of cattle, and the hilly grounds are pastured with numerous flocks of sheep. In the East of the county are some small isolated coalfields, the most southerly in England, the quarries which furnish the famous Bath stone, and a large development of magnesian limestone; the West of the county consists chiefly of slaty rocks, forming the wild moorlands of Exmoor. The chief minerals worked are lead, iron, and slate. The principal manufactures are woollen and worsted goods, gloves, lace, linen, crape, silk, paper, glass, and bath-bricks. There are salmon, herring, and other fisheries in the Bristol Channel. An important chain of internal communication is formed by the Yeo and Parret navigation and the Glastonbury Canal. The county contains 40 hundreds, 2 liberties, 489 parishes with parts of 3 others, the parliamentary and municipal boroughs of Bath (2 members) and Taunton (1 member), and the municipal boroughs of Bridgwater, Chard, Glastonbury, Wells, and Yeovil. It is nearly co-extensive with the diocese of Bath and Wells. For parliamentary purposes it is divided into 7 divisions - viz., Northern, Wells, Frome, Eastern, Southern, Bridgwater, and Western or Wellington - 1 member for each division; the representation was increased from 6 to 7 members in 1885. (Transcribed from Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887)

Other Somerset webpages

An interactive satellite map of Somerset. Use the arrows and + and - buttons to explore the whole county.


Somerset Photographs

Historic photographic images and old picture postcards of the south west of England (Devon, Dorset, Somerset) with interactive maps of the town or village and area around as it is today. A virtual museum of the towns and villages of the west of England. Places to stay in the area. Buy vintage and collectible  postcards from our online postcard store.

Postcard Glossary  Clubs  Competition   Old Picture Postcards 2008   Postcard Links  Books  Genealogy  Contact